Letcher County, KY

This is Letcher County. It is located in the promise zone of the Appalachian trails.

      Letcher County was established in 1842 from portions of Harlan and Perry counties and is located in the Eastern Coal Field region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 940 to 3720 feet above sea level. The county has a land area of 339 square miles, with an average of 72.6 people per square mile (2010). The county seat is Whitesburg. Whitesburg is located on the North Fork of the Kentucky River and was founded in 1842, with the forming of the county, on land donated for the purpose. Whitesburg was named in honor of Daugherty White, legislator from Clay county. The post office opened in 1843 as Whitesburg Court House. 



Letcher County Coal Miners Memorial, Neon, KY


Pound Gap Road Cut Through—Memorial of the massacre at Pound Gap, Jenkins, KY


Site of the First Battle of Whitesburg at Pound Gap, Jenkins, KY


David A. Zegeer Coal and Railroad Museum, Jenkins, KY


World War II Memorial Monument, Jenkins, KY


Carcassone Community Center, Blackey, Kentucky


Pine Mountain State Scenic Trail, Whitesburg, Kentucky