Lincoln County is a county located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of the 2010 census, the population was 24,742. Its county seat is Stanford. Lincoln is a prohibition or “dry county.”
Lincoln County is part of the Danville, KY Micropolitan Statistical Area. Organized in 1780, Lincoln County was not named for the later president (b.a��1809), but for the American Revolutionary War general Benjamin Lincoln.
Lincoln was one of the original three counties formed out of Virginia’s Kentucky County. (The other two were Fayette and Jefferson counties.) These three were separated from Virginia to create the Commonwealth of Kentucky in 1792.
The county’s original seat was at Harrodsburg, but that part of Lincoln County became Mercer County in 1785. actonel versus generic super avana. order altace generic